View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Sep 18, 2019 5:57 am



Reply to topic  [ 187 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next
Warlord RPG erratta 
Author Message
Inner Circle
Inner Circle
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 2553
Location: The Netheryn bonegardens
Post 
p.144, Spiritual Attack: It lists a duration, but not how many times per day he can use the ability, nor what kind of action (standard, free, etc) it is to activate the ability.
Also, are they touch attacks, since it mentions they're incorporeal, or is that just a flavor explanation?

_________________
Image
"Turn from the temporal. Embrace the eternal."


Fri Jul 28, 2006 4:10 pm
Profile ICQ
Inner Circle
Inner Circle
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 2553
Location: The Netheryn bonegardens
Post 
p.139, Induce Fear: "Opponents with few[sic] HD than the nothrog are immune to this ability."
I would think it would be "more".

_________________
Image
"Turn from the temporal. Embrace the eternal."


Fri Jul 28, 2006 10:46 pm
Profile ICQ
Inner Circle
Inner Circle
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 2553
Location: The Netheryn bonegardens
Post 
Do Monks in the Accordlands do lethal damage with their fists, or nonlethal like everyone else?

I don't see anything mentioning that they have a special property regarding this, just that their damage ramps up quickly. Whereas in D&D there's a special note about them doing real damage with their unarmed strikes.

Oversight or intentional?

_________________
Image
"Turn from the temporal. Embrace the eternal."


Sat Jul 29, 2006 3:35 pm
Profile ICQ
Writer
Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 3846
Location: Exeter, UK
Post 
Sure seems that way.

Page 270 of the Codex: Since paladins in the Accordlands don't have to be good, mentions of the word 'evil' in the paladin spell 'Holy Sword' should be replaced with 'of opposite alignment', so neutral and evil paladins can still use it.

_________________
Laurence J Sinclair


Sun Jul 30, 2006 3:21 am
Profile WWW
Head of Insanity Division
Head of Insanity Division
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 3422
Location: Oak Park, IL
Post 
(at work) There isn't an Unholy Sword counterpart?
Otherwise - agreed.

_________________
Have a rules question? There's a forum for that!
I reserve the right to ignore all rules-related PMs that I deem should be asked there. 8)


Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:53 am
Profile
Writer
Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 3846
Location: Exeter, UK
Post 
Iceman wrote:
(at work) There isn't an Unholy Sword counterpart?
Otherwise - agreed.


There is an Unholy Sword as well, but no restriction on what alignment a Paladin has to be to take the spells - a good paladin could quite happily use Unholy Sword, and the evil paladin could use Holy Sword. In fact, either could quite happily use both interchangably. The neutral paladin has no special anti-chaos enchantment.

Both spells would be better off being collapsed into a single 'holy sword' spell that affects those of opposite alignment.

_________________
Laurence J Sinclair


Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:39 am
Profile WWW
Writer
Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 3846
Location: Exeter, UK
Post 
Ahriman wrote:
Do Monks in the Accordlands do lethal damage with their fists, or nonlethal like everyone else?

I don't see anything mentioning that they have a special property regarding this, just that their damage ramps up quickly. Whereas in D&D there's a special note about them doing real damage with their unarmed strikes.

Oversight or intentional?

Page 187 of the Codex:

"A monk or any character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat can deal lethal or non-lethal damage with unarmed strikes, at his option."

The Monk entry says that they gain the benefits of IUS for free at first level. The mistake is in the IUS entry on page 113 - it misses the line from the PHB that allows characters to deal lethal damage.

Errata: Page 113 of Codex, under Improved Unarmed Strike entry, add the following after the second sentence under the 'benefit' heading:

"In addition, your unarmed strikes can deal lethal or nonlethal damage, at your option."

_________________
Laurence J Sinclair


Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:43 am
Profile WWW
Inner Circle
Inner Circle
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 5:00 pm
Posts: 511
Location: Southern Connecticut and Southern Vermont
Post 
The description of Spellcraft mentions it specifically as "Wizard Only," this should definitely be errated or poor Illusionists, Necromancers and Summoners will all cry sad-sad tears for their barren spellbooks.

_________________
Nale: Perfect! The Linear Guild is practically synonymous with with taking disproportionate revenge for quasi-imagined slights!
Sabine: It even says so on our business cards!

L.A.I.R. Team member and 7th level GM.


Tue Aug 01, 2006 6:38 am
Profile
Writer
Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 3846
Location: Exeter, UK
Post 
KeeperOfMadness wrote:
The description of Spellcraft mentions it specifically as "Wizard Only," this should definitely be errated or poor Illusionists, Necromancers and Summoners will all cry sad-sad tears for their barren spellbooks.


The description is on page 91 of the Codex - I see nothing there that says that it's Wizard only. Where is it listed as such?

_________________
Laurence J Sinclair


Tue Aug 01, 2006 7:02 am
Profile WWW
Inner Circle
Inner Circle
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 5:00 pm
Posts: 511
Location: Southern Connecticut and Southern Vermont
Post 
Take a look at the chart on Page 90. While admittedly this probably falls under the go with text over chart rule, the chart states "Learn a spell from a spellbook or scroll (wizard only)." and again in "Prepare a spell from a borrowed spellbook (wizard only)."

_________________
Nale: Perfect! The Linear Guild is practically synonymous with with taking disproportionate revenge for quasi-imagined slights!
Sabine: It even says so on our business cards!

L.A.I.R. Team member and 7th level GM.


Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:58 am
Profile
Writer
Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 3846
Location: Exeter, UK
Post 
Ah yes... Should probably say 'arcane spellcasters only' instead, but then there has to be an exception made for shamen.

_________________
Laurence J Sinclair


Wed Aug 02, 2006 1:55 am
Profile WWW
n00b
n00b
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 5:00 pm
Posts: 49
Location: last place fighting to move up
Post 
In the Codex pg 39. It states the fallowing:

Spontaneous Casting: An illusionist is intimately familiar with the senses, and casts illusion spells with great skill. The illusionist may lose one of his memprised spells to cast any illusion spell of LOWER level than the expended spell. The illusionist must have at least one copy of the spell he wishes to cast memorized

Now the necromancer, summoner, and the wizard have the same abilty ( the wizard has Eidetic memory) that have them cast spells of EQUAL level and only has to be in their spellbook. Is it just me or should the abilty be the same for all?

_________________
I am a murdering bastard, you know that.....

Kerdel Rowan


Wed Aug 02, 2006 8:52 pm
Profile
Inner Circle
Inner Circle
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 2140
Location: Arizona
Post 
Not all classes are equal. The deviation may have been due to balance part of the illusionists abilities.

Needless to say I'll look over it and ask the powers that be.

-Geoff

_________________
Politics : Economics :: Oil : Water
Image


Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:03 pm
Profile WWW
Inner Circle
Inner Circle
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 2553
Location: The Netheryn bonegardens
Post 
I could've sworn I saw some NPC where that ability was described as "equal or lower"...but I'm not sure where in the books it was.

_________________
Image
"Turn from the temporal. Embrace the eternal."


Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:13 pm
Profile ICQ
Inner Circle
Inner Circle
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 2553
Location: The Netheryn bonegardens
Post 
GhedJennar wrote:
and ask the powers that be.


We should really have someone who helped write the mechanics for the books around to look at this sort of thing once or twice a week, so we don't have to guess what they intended so much and instead can get some clear "That's a typo"/"That's intentional" clarifications.

_________________
Image
"Turn from the temporal. Embrace the eternal."


Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:16 pm
Profile ICQ
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 187 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.